Main Navigation


National Quality Framework

In 2012, The National Quality Framework was introduced to all states of Australia. The aim of this is to improve the quality of learning outcomes of children in early childhood education and care services.


At KDMCH we meet the Education and Care Services Law Act 2010 and the Education and Care Services National Regulations 2011. A new National organisation called Australian Children's Education & Care Quality Authority (ACECQA) is responsible for laws and regulations. ( In Queensland the regulatory authority is th Office for Early Childhood and Care. It is responsible for monitoring, compliance of law and regulations and assessing services against the National Quality Standards.


The seven quality standards

  • Educational program and practice
  • Children's health and safety
  • Physical environment
  • Staffing arrangements
  • Relationship with children
  • Collaborative partnerships with families and communities
  • Leadership and service management

    QIAS is a Commonwealth Government initiative linked to Child Care Benefit approval for Centre Based Long Day Care.   KDMCH is accredited under the Quality Improvement and Accreditation systems for long day care systems.

    KDMCH achieved very high quality in 2009 for;

    • Staff Relationship with Children and Peers
    • Partnership with Families
    • Programming and Evaluation
    • Children’s Experience and Learning
    • Protective care and Safety
    • Health, Nutrition and Wellbeing
    • Managing to Support Quality


    ACECQA is the independent national authority overseeing the implementation of the new framework. ACECQA - Families section outlines how quality education and care is vital to your child’s development and explains what the National Quality Framework means for you.